Niagara Falls Facts

Niagara Falls is a group of waterfalls in the Niagara River in eastern North America, on the border between the United States and Canada. The falls are located in the twin cities of Niagara Falls, New York (USA) and Niagara Falls, Ontario (Canada).
The series of falls include American Falls, Horseshoe Falls (also known as the Canadian Falls) and Bridal Veil Falls. Horseshoe Falls is the largest of the group, with a width of 920 meters. American Falls has a width of 325 meters, and Bridal Veil Falls is considerably less wide. Horseshoe Falls is located two-thirds in Canada and one-third in the United States. The other two falls are located in the USA.

The Waterfalls
Niagara Falls has a drop of about 54 meters and has an extremely high water flow- at least 2,000 cubic meters/ second. The falls are a major tourist attraction and millions of visitors come every year to see them, especially during the summer.
Boats on the Niagara River can escape the falls by the Welland Canal, part of the Saint Lawrence Seaway. Despite the extremely high flow of water down the falls, a portion of the river (50 to 75%) does not go to the falls, but is redirected instead through turbines that supply nearby areas ion both sides of the border with electricity.

The winters around Niagara Falls are cold, with temperatures usually below zero. Summers are warm, with an average temperature of 26-27 degrees during the day. The falls are spectacular to see no matter what season.


Niagara Falls Winter